Pitch Black and the 7 Dwarves – WHOA! Magazine Art

I was asked to produce these characters for a short story to be published in WHOA Magazine.  These are a ghetto version of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves.  The Warner Bros. production “Coal Black and de Sebben Dwarfs” did not come to mind when I created them, but one can see the the similarities.  The differences lie in the color of the dwarves: Coal Black’s dwarves were all-Black, and these dwarves are of all colors you can find in the ghetto.  One might even look to–and I can’ believe I’m writing this–the Kids WB cartoon “Waynehead”.

The story did not get published and the designs did not go past the sketching stage, but I felt like I should share these using my portfolio. Enjoy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

